Council election 2021

This year's Council election is organised in conjunction with leading election provider, Civica Election Services - and will be held in digital format.

Fellows will receive secure log-in details and voting instructions via email from CES on Monday 4 October (from

The deadline for voting is 17:00 on Monday 8 November.

Fellows standing for election to Council this year are:

Professor Wiebke Arlt FMedSci
William Withering Chair of Medicine and Director, Institute of Metabolism and Systems Research, University of Birmingham

Professor Cyrus Cooper OBE FMedSci
Director, MRC Lifecourse Epidemiology Centre; Professor of Rheumatology and Vice-Dean (Medicine), University of Southampton and Professor of Musculoskeletal Science, University of Oxford

Professor Sadaf Farooqi FRS FMedSci
Wellcome Principal Research Fellow and Professor of Metabolism and Medicine, University of Cambridge

Professor Sanjeev Krishna FMedSci
Professor of Molecular Parasitology and Medicine, St Georges University of London

Professor Sir Andrew Pollard FMedSci
Director, Oxford Vaccine Group and Professor of Paediatric Infection Immunity, University of Oxford

Professor Jonathan Shepherd CBE FMedSci FLSW
Professor Emeritus of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and Professor, Crime and Security Research Institute, Cardiff University

Professor Richard Trembath FMedSci
Senior Vice President Health and Life Sciences, King’s College London

Professor Paula Williamson FMedSci
Professor of Medical Statistics, University of Liverpool


Please read the Letter from the Executive Director about this year's election and view the List of candidates and details of their supporting nominators.







Key contacts

Mentoring masterclass - July 2022

Book Now

Health policy implications of climate change

Book Now

Career Development Event - Disability and mental health in academia

Book Now
View more
FB Twitter Instagram Youtube