Clinician Scientist Fellowships

These fellowships provide five years' salary and consumables to enable talented clinicians to pursue academic research alongside their clinical practice in order to make long-term improvements in healthcare.

Key dates

The scheme is currently closed for applications - dates for future rounds have not yet been confirmed. 


The Health Foundation is working with the Academy of Medical Sciences to deliver the Clinician Scientist Fellowship programme. The programme focuses on ‘translational research’ – that is, research that has a direct benefit to patients. The findings can then be used to shape healthcare, by influencing policy or informing professional practice.

About the scheme

Clinician Scientist Fellowships were developed by many funders as a result of the Academy's report, 'The Tenured Track Clinician Scientist: a new career pathway to promote recruitment into academic medicine' in March 2000. In 2001 we launched our own Clinician Scientist Fellowship and, in partnership with the Health Foundation, we have supported a growing cohort of clinical academics to pursue and develop their research within a clinical setting.

Over four rounds of funding, we have supported 26 outstanding clinicians who are committed to improving practice through advances in clinical research, and are driven to inspire others. Our Clinician Scientist Fellows have the opportunity to build the foundations for a career in clinical academic medicine while conducting valuable research that will improve the quality of care for patients.

We commissioned two independent evaluations of this scheme. The first one was completed in 2012, while the second one was finalised in summer 2022, and it covered all four cohorts of the scheme. You can access both evaluation reports from the right hand side of this page.

Recent Awardees

Dr David Church, University of Oxford: Mechanistic and biomarker evaluation of POLE exonuclease domain mutations in colorectal and endometrial cancers

Dr Jayati Das-Munshi, King's College London: Health inequalities in ethnic minority service users with serious mental illness; understanding pathways to reduced life expectancy

Dr Rina Dutta, King's College London: Electronic health records to predict HOspitalised Suicide attempts: Targeting Information Technology solutions (e-HOST-IT)

Dr Virginia Newcombe, University of Cambridge: Optimised imaging for integrated serial evaluation in traumatic brain injury prognosis (OPTIMISE-TBI Prognosis)

Dr Estee Torok, University of Cambridge: Translating rapid bacterial whole-genome sequencing in clinical microbiology for patient benefit

Dr Gareth Ackland, University College London: Cellular and humoral mechanisms associated with improving surgical outcomes

Mr Luke Devey, University of Edinburgh: The role of antigen presenting cells and T regulatory cells in ischaemic preconditioning

Dr Jonathan Fallowfield, University of Edinburgh: Haemodynamic and anti-fibrotic effects of targeted therapies in models of cirrhosis and portal hypertension

Mr Damian Mole, University of Edinburgh: Preventing acute lung injury in pancreatitis by targeting gut tryphophan metabolism

Dr Barry Seemungal, Imperial College London: Vestibular perception of head velocity versus displacement: neuro-anatomical and clinical correlates

Dr Shiao-yng Chan, University of Birmingham: The role of monocarboxylate transporter 8 (MCT8) in human foetal brain development and the effects of intrauterine growth restriction

Professor Anna Gilmore, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine and University of Bath: Developing and evaluating policies to reduce tobacco use and harm in the UK

Dr Rajesh Jena, University of Cambridge: Biological optimisation of radiotherapy treatment for patients with high-grade glioma

Professor Robert MacLaren, Moorfields Eye Hospital and University of Oxford: Development of new transplantation treatments for patients suffering from retinal disease

Professor Andrew McIntosh, University of Edinburgh: Neurocognitive abnormality in individuals at high risk of bipolar disorder or schizophrenia for genetic reasons

Dr Stephen Till, Imperial College London: Novel tolerance-inducing vaccines for allergic diseases caused by grass pollen

Fellowships awarded through the Academy of Medical Sciences, in partnership with the Health Foundation

Fellowships in Academic Surgery

Professor Peter Hutchinson, University of Cambridge: Neuroprotection after head injury: decompressive  craniectomy and microdialysis

Professor Michael Douek, King's College London: Functional assessment of breast cancer angiogenesis using Doppler ultrasound and breast MRI

Mr Edwin Jesudason, University of Liverpool: Exploiting mechanical stimuli to increase prenatal growth of the hypoplastic lung

Ms Lorna Marson, University of Edinburgh: Macrophage-mediated killing of endothelial cells in chronic allograft nephropathy

Mr Gavin Pettigrew, University of Cambridge: T – B cell collaboration in alloimmunity

Professor Nicola Ragge, University of Oxford: A clinical and molecular genetic study of congenital microphthalmos-anophthalmos

Fellowships in Academic Radiology

Professor Mary Ann Rutherford, Imperial College London: An MR imaging programme to study the development of the human cortex

Dr Elspeth Whitby, University of Sheffield: Magnetic resonance imaging of the developing fetus

Fellowships in Anaesthesia

Dr Jonathan Coles, University of Cambridge: Temporal pattern and metabolic correlates of neuronal loss after human head injury

Dr Robert Stephens, University College London: The predictors of the human response to endotoxin

Fellowship awarded through the Academy of Medical Sciences, in partnership with the Primary Immunodeficiency Association

Dr Siobhan Burns, University College London: Defects of Dendritic Cell migration in Wiskott-Aldrich Syndrome


Key contacts

Meet the President - Cambridge

Book Now

Meet the President - Edinburgh

Book Now

Mentoring Masterclass - September 2024

Book Now
View more
FB Twitter Instagram Youtube