Academy of Medical Sciences Professorship Scheme

These awards will offer flexible support to biomedical and healthcare researchers, who have moved to the UK, during the initial years of a full Professorship.

Key dates

Round 6 is now open to applications. The deadline for this round is 9 February 2022, 4pm (GMT). 

Shortlisted candidates will be expected to attend for interview in early March 2022.

Scheme OPEN

The Academy of Medical Sciences is delighted to announce the call for applications to its Professorship Scheme. Working in partnership with UK Higher Education Institutions, we will be providing an attractive package of support to biomedical and healthcare researchers taking up a full Professorship in the UK.
Meet our current Professorship awardees here, and learn about how they hope to utilise their awards.


The Academy of Medical Sciences is committed to attracting and retaining emerging talent from across the globe to the UK, and recognises the importance of capacity building at the early-leadership career stage.

This scheme seeks to progress that ambition by offering flexible support to researchers imminently taking up a full Professorship, or for those that have recently commenced such a position.  Awards will be made in partnership with the employing Higher Education Institute (HEI). 

Recent Awardees

Professor Meritxell Canals, University of Nottingham

Professor Vincent Dion, University of Cardiff

Professor Ulrich Rass, University of Sussex

Professor Evi Soutoglou, University of Sussex

Professor Dirk-Peter Herten, University of Birmingham

Professor Jody Rosenblatt, King's College London

Professor Juan Vaquerizas, Imperial College London

Professor Wenying Shou, University College London

Professor Jordi Diaz-Manera, Newcastle University


The scheme is generously supported by the Department of Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS).

Find out more

Key contacts

Mentoring Masterclass - December 2021

Book Now

Annual Fellows' Meeting and Jean Shanks Lecture 2021

Book Now

From bedside to bench: experimental medicine and clinical insights for understanding chronic pain

Book Now
View more
FB Twitter Instagram Youtube