SUSTAIN - women in research

SUSTAIN is a programme that enables women in research to thrive in their independent research careers. It provides an innovative programme of training and support to develop participants’ leadership and career potential.

Key dates

Applications for SUSTAIN Round 11 are now open and will close on on Thursday 5 September 2024 at 16:00 BST.


Not enough female researchers are securing senior leadership posts in the UK. A concerted effort is needed to ensure women are appropriately supported along their career trajectory to enable them to secure those senior positions.

Our SUSTAIN programme provides female researchers a fantastic opportunity to benefit from individualised support tailored to their career needs. 


About the programme

We are delighted to announce the 23 SUSTAIN participants starting their year-long programme on Wednesday 22 May. As in previous rounds, applicants were chosen randomly and stratified by funder. All applicants are grant awardees funded by the Academy of Medical Sciences, the Medical Research Council, the Royal Society or the Royal Academy of Engineering. The programme will provide the participants with a range of innovative training and support opportunities to develop and refine their leadership and career potential. 

SUSTAIN round 10 participants:

Jessica Agnew-Blais, Queen Mary University of London

Shin-Yi Chiou, University of Birmingham

Laura Clark, University of York

Laura Dearden, University of Cambridge

Anna Franz, University College London

Beatriz Goulao, University of Aberdeen School of Medicine and Dentistry

Iris Hardege, University of Cambridge

Saloni Krishnan, University College London

Myra Lydon, Queen's University Belfast

Aurora Maccarone, Heriot-Watt University

Helen Matthews, University of Sheffield

Frances Meeten, King's College London

Joanna Moss, University of Surrey

Gaia Nebbia, King's College London

Sophie Nedelec, University of Exeter

Adjanie Patabendige, Edge Hill University

Ingrid Pelisoli, University of Warwick

Lettie Rawlins, University of Exeter Medical School

Elena Scarpa, University of Cambridge

Kirsten Smith, University of Oxford

Ximena Soto, University of Manchester

Yize Wan, Queen Mary University of London

Qian Wu, University of Leeds


SUSTAIN  is supported by the Academy of Medical Sciences, the Medical Research Council, the Royal Society, and the Royal Academy of Engineering.

Key contacts

Meet the President - Cambridge

Book Now

Meet the President - Edinburgh

Book Now

Mentoring Masterclass - September 2024

Book Now
View more
FB Twitter Instagram Youtube