Council election 2020

This year's Council election is taking place in electronic format for the first time and is being administered for the Academy by Civica Election Services with whom we have worked in previous years to provide postal ballots.

Fellows will receive secure log-in details and voting instructions via email from CES on Monday 5 October (from

The deadline for voting is 17:00 on Monday 9 November

The following Fellows are standing for election to Council this year:

Professor Jane Apperley FMedSci
Chair,Centre for Haematology, Imperial College London  

Professor Wiebke Arlt FMedSci
William Withering Chair of Medicine and Director, Institute of Metabolism and Systems Research, University of Birmingham 

Professor Dame Nicky Cullum DBE FMedSci
Professor of Nursing, University of Manchester 

Dr Jennifer Dixon CBE FMedSci
Chief Executive, The Health Foundation 

Professor Christine Harrison FMedSci
Professor of Childhood Cancer Cytogenetics, Newcastle University 

Professor Margaret (Mandy) MacLean MBE FRSE FMedSci
Professor of Pulmonary Pharmacology, University of Strathclyde 

Professor Neena Modi FMedSci
Professor of Neonatal Medicine, Imperial College London  

Professor Eleanor Riley FMedSci
Professor of Immunology and Infectious Disease, University of Edinburgh 

Professor Aziz Sheikh OBE FRSE FMedSci
Professor of Primary Care Research and Development; Director, Usher Institute and Dean of Data, University of Edinburgh 

Please read the Letter from the Executive Director about this year's election and view the List of candidates and details of their supporting nominators.







Key contacts

Curating your career

Book Now

Mentoring Masterclass - November 2021

Book Now

The 2021 FORUM Sir Colin Dollery Lecture - Celebrating the UK's scientific contributions to tackling the pandemic

Book Now
View more
FB Twitter Instagram Youtube