Fellows elected to the Royal Society 2021

Congratulations to the ten Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences elected to the Royal Society in 2021.

Sir Adrian Smith, President of the Royal Society, said:

"This is the first year of my presidency at the Royal Society and I’ve been very much looking forward to welcoming the newly elected Fellows and Foreign Members.

"The global pandemic has demonstrated the continuing importance of scientific thinking and collaboration across borders. Each Fellow and Foreign Member bring their area of scientific expertise to the Royal Society and when combined, this expertise supports the use of science for the benefit of humanity.

"Our new Fellows and Foreign Members are all at the forefronts of their fields from molecular genetics and cancer research to tropical open ecosystems and radar technology. It is an absolute pleasure and honour to have them join us."

The newly elected Fellows of ours to join the Royal Society's Fellowship are:

Professor Julie Ahringer FMedSci, University of Cambridge

Dr Peter John Campbell FMedSci, Wellcome Sanger Institute

Professor Sadaf Farooqi FMedSci, University of Cambridge

Professor Ten Feizi FMedSci, Imperial College London

Professor Adrian Vivian Sinton Hill FMedSci, University of Oxford

Professor Roger Nicholas Lemon FMedSci, University College London

Dr Fiona Marshall FMedSci, Merck Sharpe and Dohme

Professor Frances Mary Platt FMedSci, University of Oxford

Professor David Henry Rowitch FMedSci, University of Cambridge

Professor Sir Simon Wessely FMedSci, King's College London

The Academy of Medical Sciences will be electing our new Fellows on Wednesday 12 May.

Key contacts

Mentoring masterclass - July 2022

Book Now

Health policy implications of climate change

Book Now

Career Development Event - Disability and mental health in academia

Book Now
View more
FB Twitter Instagram Youtube