UK General Election 2024 - Read our five key asks of the next government full report and executive summary

Council election results 2022

We are pleased to announce that the following Fellows were elected to Council in this year's election. Each will serve a three-year term in office.

Professor Kathryn Maitland OBE FMedSci
Professor of Paediatric Tropical Infectious Diseases, Imperial College London

Professor Ijeoma Uchegbu FMedSci
Professor of Pharmaceutical Nanoscience, University College London

This year’s election saw six candidates competing for two vacancies on Council. The election was administered electronically by our external provider, Civica Election Services, with the ballot open between 4 October and 8 November. A total of 517 Fellows voted in the election – representing a turnout rate of 36.8%. The ballot was conducted using the single transferable voting system used for all Academy Council elections, with Civica Election Services acting as our independent scrutineer.

We thank the following retiring members of Council for their service to the Academy over the past three years:

Professor Michael Hanna FMedSci
Professor David Webb CBE FRSE FMedSci

Key contacts

Meet the President - June 2024 (Online)

Book Now

Meet the President - Manchester

Book Now

Meet the President - Cambridge

Book Now
View more
FB Twitter Instagram Youtube