Report from the Annual Fellows' Meeting 2017

The Academy’s Annual Fellows’ Meeting took place on Tuesday 5 December and included the AGM, the Foulkes Foundation Medal Award and the annual Jean Shanks Lecture.

This year's AGM was attended by over 50 Fellows. Presentations were given by the President, Treasurer and Executive Director.

Click here to read the Executive Director’s Review of the Year

The formal items of business at the AGM were as follows:

1. The minutes of the Annual General Meeting on 8 December 2016 were  approved.

2. It was agreed to invite the following individuals to become Honorary Fellows of the Academy.

  • Ms Fiona Fox OBE
  • Professor Maria Leptin
  • Baroness Eliza Manningham-Buller

3. Professor Fiona Watt was welcomed as incoming Vice-President (non-clinical) and Fellows recorded their formal thanks to Professor Martin Humphries who demitted office at the meeting, following a 5-year term of  service.

3. The results of the 2017 Council elections were announced. The following Fellows will be joining the Academy Council in 2018:

  • Professor Dame Jessica Corner FMedSci
  • Professor Hilary Critchley FRSE FMedSci
  • Professor Julie Williams CBE FMedSci FLSW

4. The audited accounts for 2016/17 were agreed and PKF Littlejohn for were appointed as auditors for 2017/18.

5. It was agreed that there would a small inflation-indexed adjustment in the Fellows’ subscription rates for 2018/19.


Following the AGM, Mrs Maureen Foulkes-Hajdu presented the  2017 Foulkes Foundation Medal to Dr Cristina Lo Celso, who then gave a presentation about her work. The afternoon finished with the 2017 Jean Shanks Lecture, `The CRISPR-Cas9 breakthrough genome engineering technology:  new developments for medicine’, presented this year by  Professor Emmanuelle Charpentier, Director of the Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology.

At a ceremony before dinner, Honorary Fellows elected last year were formally admitted to the Academy:  Professor Xuetao Cao FMedSci;  Professor Victor Dzau FMedSci and Dame Stephanie Shirley CH FREng FMedSci. The Annual Fellows' Dinner  was attended by approximately 130 Fellows and guests and Sir Robert Lechler spoke a few words of thanks to recognise  Professor Martin Humphries’ service to the Academy as Vice President over the last five years.

Filmed footage of lectures from the day will soon be available to view on the Academy’s YouTube channel.

View photos from the day on Flickr


Staff leads

Roundtable on 'Artificial intelligence and health'

Book Now

Richard & Hinda Rosenthal Symposium: Behaviour change to improve health for all

Book Now

Newcastle celebration 2019

Book Now
View more
FB Twitter Instagram Youtube