UK General Election 2024 - Read our five key asks of the next government full report and executive summary

Fellows recognised in New Year Honours 2024

The Academy of Medical Sciences congratulates the 13 Fellows recognised in the 2024 New Year Honours list.  

The honours mark the accomplishments of extraordinary individuals who have made achievements in public life or committed themselves to serving and helping the UK. 

The full list of Academy Fellows recognised this year is: 

Dames Grand Cross of the Order of the British Empire: 

Professor Dame Carol Black DBE FMedSci 
For public service 

Dames Commander of the Order of the British Empire: 

Dr Jennifer Dixon CBE FMedSci 
Chief Executive, The Health Foundation 
For services to the NHS and public health 

Knights Bachelor: 

Professor John Edmunds OBE FMedSci 
Professor of Infectious Disease Modelling, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine 
For services to epidemiology 

Professor John Iredale FRSE FMedSci
Professor of Medical Science, University of Bristol  
For services to medical research 

Professor Alexander McCall Smith CBE FRSE FMedSci
Emeritus Professor of Medical Law
For services to literature, academia and charity 

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire: 

Professor Paul Emery OBE FMedSci FLSW 
Versus Arthritis Professor of Rheumatology, University of Leeds 
For services to rheumatology  

Professor Andrew Hopkins FRS FRSE FMedSci FLSW 
Chief Executive Officer, Exscientia  
For services to science and innovation 

Dr Ann Prentice OBE FMedSci 
Honorary Professor of Global Nutrition and Health, University of Cambridge 
For services to British and global public health nutrition 

Professor Elizabeth Robertson FRS FMedSci
Professor of Developmental Biology, University of Oxford 
For services to medical sciences  

Officers of the Order of the British Empire: 

Professor Ulrike Schmidt FMedSci
Professor of Eating Disorders, King's College London
For services to people with eating disorders  

Professor Bryan Williams FMedSci
Chair of Medicine, University College London
For services to medicine   

Members of the Order of the British Empire:

Professor David Edwards FMedSci
Professor of Paediatrics and Neonatal Medicine, King’s College London 
For services to health research

Professor Matthew Snape FMedSci
Vice President, Clinical Development Paediatric and Maternal Vaccines, Moderna
For services to public health, particularly during the Covid-19 pandemic 

Further information about the full list is available on the Government’s New Years Honours webpage. 

Key contacts

Meet the President - June 2024 (Online)

Book Now

Meet the President - Manchester

Book Now

Meet the President - Cambridge

Book Now
View more
FB Twitter Instagram Youtube