UK General Election 2024 - Read our five key asks of the next government full report and executive summary

Council election 2023 - results

The Academy of Medical Sciences is pleased to announce that the following Fellows have been elected to the Academy Council. Each will serve a three-year term of office. 

Professor Jugnoo Rahi FMedSci 

Professor of Ophthalmic Epidemiology and Honorary Consultant Ophthalmologist, UCL GOS Institute of Child Health and UCL Institute of Ophthalmology, Great Ormond Street Hospital NHS Foundation Trust 

Professor David Burn FMedSci 

Pro-Vice Chancellor, Faculty of Medical Sciences, Newcastle University; Honorary Consultant Neurologist, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust 

Professor Helen McShane FMedSci 

Professor of Vaccinology and Deputy Head, Medical Sciences Division, University of Oxford; Director, NIHR Oxford Biomedical Research Centre; Honorary Consultant in Infectious Diseases 

The Academy received 10 nominations for three vacancies on Council this year. The election was conducted using the single transferable voting system by external provider Civica Election Services. Voting closed on 7 November.  

Voter turnout was 37.8% - with a total of 544 Fellows participating in the election.  

The Academy thanks the preceding members of Council for their service to the organisation over the last three years: 

  • Professor Neena Modi 
  • Professor Mandy MacLean 
  • Professor Eleanor Riley 

Key contacts

Meet the President - June 2024 (Online)

Book Now

Meet the President - Manchester

Book Now

Meet the President - Cambridge

Book Now
View more
FB Twitter Instagram Youtube