Council Election 2017 - call for nominations

Nominations sought for Fellows to serve on the Academy's Council in 2018.

This year, four members of Council will complete their terms of office at the Annual Fellows' Meeting on 5 December:

Professor Jonathan Ashmore FRS FMedSci
Professor Jane Norman FMedSci
Professor Sir Michael Owen FMedSci FLSW
Sir Michael Rawllins FMedSci

Three new members of Council will be appointed through this year's Council election. Each will serve for a three-year term.

All Fellows of the Academy are eligible to stand for election to the Academy's Council except if they have just completed a period in office as an Ordinary Member of Council. Further guidance notes and a nomination form can be downloaded from this page. Completed nomination forms should be returned to the Executive Director, Academy of Medical Sciences , 41 Portland Place, London W1B 1QH  no later than 17:00 on Friday 29 September 2017. Nomination forms  can, alternatively, be sent by e-mail to

Fellows wishing to informally discuss nominations or the role of Council are invited to contact Helen Munn at the above e-mail address.

In early October all Fellows will be posted a list of candidates for this year's election together with a ballot form.  This year's ballot will be counted on Tuesday 14 November and the results will be announced at this year's Annual Fellows Meeting on 5 December 2017. 



Staff leads

South West Special Lecture - Development and homeostasis of the enteric nervous system

Book Now

New Fellows Admission Day 2018

Book Now

Challenges and priorities for global mental health research in low- and middle-income countries

Book Now
View more