Academy announces new Honorary Fellows

The Academy of Medical Sciences is pleased to announce the election of three distinguished individuals as Honorary Fellows in recognition of their exceptional contributions to healthcare and science. 

With over 25 years of experience working at a national level in the life sciences sector, Dr Louise Wood CBE FMedSci, Chair of the Association of Medical Research Charities, has been elected an Honorary Fellow. Dr Wood has held leadership positions dedicated to excellent science and enabling a healthier society.  

Dr Wood said: “Having worked with the Academy and its distinguished Fellows throughout my career, it’s a great honour to have been recognised in this way. I’m particularly encouraged by the focus the Academy is placing on cross-sector collaboration, support for early career researchers and expanding the diversity of its Fellowship.” 

Indro Mukerjee HonFREng FMedSci, Chief Executive Officer of Innovate UK, has been elected an Honorary Fellow for his commitment to advancing skills development for industry and driving economic growth through innovation.  

Mr Mukerjee said: “I’m pleased to have been elected as an Honorary Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences and respect its people and its important work. 

“Innovate UK plays a key role in supporting the translation of medical science into innovation, a central aspect of our mission. I will continue to support this important sector as CEO of Innovate UK and now as part of the Academy’s Fellowship community.” 

Professor Malcolm Skingle CBE FMedSci, Director of Academic Liaison at GSK, is also elected as an Honorary Fellow. With over 40 years of experience in the pharmaceutical industry and more than 60 publications including articles on the interface between industry and academia, he currently chairs several influential groups such as the ABPI group working on academic liaison. 

Professor Skingle said: “I am proud and humbled to receive an Honorary Fellowship from the Academy of Medical Sciences, an organisation I have long admired for its impactful work, including influential topical reports, excellent networking events and the innovative FLIER programme. Throughout my career, I have sought to foster collaboration between industry and academia to advance medical research and improve patient outcomes. I look forward to furthering this important mission as part of the Academy's distinguished Fellowship.” 

Honorary Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences is awarded to individuals who have made significant contributions to healthcare and science.  

Professor Paul Stewart FMedSci, Acting-President of the Academy of Medical Sciences, said: "We are delighted to recognise the exceptional achievements and contributions of Louise, Malcolm and Indro by electing them to the Academy’s Fellowship. Their leadership, impact and commitment to advancing biomedical science and healthcare is truly outstanding. They are an inspiration to us all and we look forward to the valuable insights they will bring to the Academy." 

Those elected this year join a prestigious group of over 50 Honorary Fellows celebrated for their distinguished service, leadership and impact in medical science. 

Key contacts

Meet the President - Cambridge

Book Now

Meet the President - Edinburgh

Book Now

Mentoring Masterclass - September 2024

Book Now
View more
FB Twitter Instagram Youtube