UK General Election 2024 - Read our five key asks of the next government full report and executive summary

New Fellows 2016

47 world leading UK researchers have been elected to the prestigious Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

The Fellows have been elected for their contribution to medical research and healthcare, the generation of new knowledge in medical sciences and its translation into benefits to society.

Professor Sir Robert Lechler PMedSci, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences said:

"These new Fellows represent the amazing diversity of talent and expertise among the UK medical research community. Through their election to the  Fellowship, we recognise the outstanding contributions these individuals have made to the progress of medical science and the development of better healthcare.

 "Thanks to the experience and expertise of its Fellows, the Academy can play a crucial role in addressing the great medical challenges of our time, such as maintaining health in an ageing population, the spread of non communicable diseases and multiple morbidities.

 "We work with our Fellowship to create the essential connections between academia, industry and the NHS and beyond, to strengthen biomedical research and facilitate its translation into benefits for society. 

"We are delighted to welcome this year’s new Fellows to the Academy and I look forward to working with them all in the future." 

The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on 29 June 2016. 

Full list of 2016 Fellows:

Arne Akbar, Professor of Immunology, University College London

Judith Allen, Professor of Immunobiology, University of Manchester

Philip Bath, Stroke Association Professor of Stroke Medicine, University of Nottingham

Graeme Black, Professor, Genetics and Ophthalmology, Deputy Director, Biomedical Research Centre, University of Manchester

Christopher Brewin, Professor of clinical psychology, University College London

Gordon Brown, 6th Century Chair in Immunology, University of Aberdeen

Christopher Butler, Professor of Primary Care, University of Oxford

Jason Chin, Programme Leader MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology

Mark Emberton, Professor of Interventional Oncology and Honorary Consultant Urological Surgeon, University College London

Stuart Forbes, Professor of Transplantation & Regenerative Medicine, University of Edinburgh

Robin Franklin, Professor of Stem Cell Medicine, Wellcome Trust – Medical Research Council Cambridge Stem Cell Institute, University of Cambridge

Harry Gilbert, Professor of Agricultural Biochemistry and Nutrition, Newcastle University

Peter Goadsby, Professor of Neurology, King's College London

Georg Holländer, Hoffmann and Action Professor of Paediatrics, Head of Department, University of Oxford

Eileen Ingham, Professor of Medical Immunology, School of Biomedical Sciences, University of Leeds

Clare Isacke, Academic Dean, Professor of Molecular Cell Biology, The Institute of Cancer Research, London

Trevor Jones, Member of the Board of Directors of Arix Bioscience ,e-Therapeutics and Simbec-Orion, Arix Bioscience

Kamlesh Khunti, Professor of Primary Care Diabetes & Vascular Medicine       University of Leicester

Sarah Lamb, Kadoorie Professor of Trauma Rehabilitation, Co-Director of the Oxford Clinical Trials Research Unit, University of Oxford

Joy Lawn, Professor of Maternal, Reproductive and Child Health Epidemiology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Graham Lord, Professor of Medicine & Honorary Consultant in Nephrology, Transplantation and Internal Medicine, King's College London

Laura Machesky, Senior Research Group Leader, University of Glasgow

Martin Maiden, Professor of Molecular Epidemiology, University of Oxford

Mala Maini, Professor and Honorary Consultant Physician, Viral Immunology, University College London

Kathryn Maitland, Professor of Tropical Paediatric Infectious Disease,Imperial College London

Fiona Marshall, Chief Science Officer, Heptares Therapeutics

Iain Mattaj, Director General, European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL)

Timothy Maughan, Professor of Clinical Oncology, Deputy Director of the CRUK/MRC Oxford Institute for Radiation Oncology, University of Oxford

Gilean McVean, Director, Big Data Institute, University of Oxford

Graeme Milligan, Professor of Molecular Pharmacology, Gardiner Professor of Biochemistry and Dean of Research, University of Glasgow

Paul Moss, Professor of Haematology, University of Birmingham

Kinya Otsu, BHF Chair of Cardiology, King's College London

David Owen, Professor of Structural Cell Biology, University of Cambridge

Peter Parham, Professor of Structural Biology, Microbiology and Immunology, Stanford University

Andrew Pollard, Professor of Paediatric Infection and Immunity and Honorary Consultant Paediatrician, University of Oxford

Jeffrey Pollard, Director, University of Edinburgh MRC Centre for Reproductive Health, University of Edinburgh

John Primrose, Professor of Surgery, University of Southampton

Sylvia Richardson, Director, Medical Research Council Biostatistics Unit, and Professor of Biostatistics, University of Cambridge

Angela Roberts, Professor of Behavioural Neuroscience, University of Cambridge

Elizabeth Robertson, Professor of Developmental Biology, University of Oxford

Naveed Sattar, Professor of Metabolic Medicine, University of Glasgow

Liam Smeeth, Professor of Clinical Epidemiology and Head of Department, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Edmund Sonuga-Barke, Professor of Developmental Psychopathology, University of Southampton

Tim Spector, Professor of Genetic Epidemiology, King's College London

Paul-Peter Tak, Chief Immunology Officer and Senior Vice President R&D Pipeline, GlaxoSmithKline

Colin Taylor, Professor of Cellular Pharmacology, University of Cambridge

Til Wykes, Professor of Clinical Psychology and Rehabilitation, King's College London

Key contacts

Meet the President - June 2024 (Online)

Book Now

Meet the President - Manchester

Book Now

Meet the President - Cambridge

Book Now
View more
FB Twitter Instagram Youtube