New Fellows 2015

48 of the UK's leading medical researchers have been recognised for excellence in medical science with their election to the Academy Fellowship.

These distinguished scientists bring the total number of Academy Fellows to 1169. We offer the new Fellows our warmest congratulations on their election and welcome them to the Academy.

The Fellows will be formally admitted during a ceremony on Wednesday 1 July. All Fellows are warmly invited to attend the day's events.

This year Admission Day will be held at the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) and the day will conclude with the Annual Fellows Summer Soirée at 41 Portland Place.

Fellows elected in 2015

Professor Wendy Atkin, Professor of Gastrointestinal Epidemiology, Imperial College London

Professor Andrew Baker, BHF Professor of Translational Cardiovascular Sciences, University of Glasgow

Professor Clive Ballard, Professor of Age Related Disease and Co-Director of the Centre for Age Related Disease, King’s College London

Professor Roger Barker, Professor of Clinical Neuroscience and Honorary Consultant Neurologist, Addenbrooke’s Hospital and University of Cambridge.

Dr Ewan Birney FRS, Associate Director, European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI), Wellcome Genome Campus

Professor Sarah Bray, Professor of Developmental Biology, University of Cambridge

Professor Peter Brocklehurst, Director Institute for Women’s Health, University College London

Professor Frances Brodsky, Director of the Division of Biosciences and Professor of Cell Biology, University College London

Professor Dame Jessica Corner, Dean of Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Southampton

Professor Yanick Crow, Professor of Genetic Medicine, University of Manchester

Professor John Danesh, BHF Professor of Epidemiology and Medicine and Head of Department of Public Health and Primary Care, University of Cambridge

Sir Andrew Dillon CBE, Chief Executive, National Institute for Health and Care Excellence

Professor Caroline Dive, Professor  of Cancer Pharmacology and Deputy Director Cancer Research UK Manchester Institute, University of Manchester

Professor Mary Dixon-Woods, Professor of Medical Sociology and Wellcome Trust Investigator, University of Leicester

Professor Christl Donnelly, Professor of Statistical Epidemiology, Imperial College London

Professor Elaine Dzierzak, Chair of Haematological Regeneration, University of Edinburgh

Professor Paul Emery,  Arthritis Research UK Professor of Rheumatology, Director - Leeds Musculoskeletal Biomedical Research Unit, LTHT, Director – Leeds Institute of Rheumatic and Musculoskeletal Medicine, University of Leeds

Professor Jorge Ferrer, Chair of Genetics and Medicine; Head of Epigenomics and Disease Section, Imperial College London

Professor Matthew Freeman FRS, Professor of Pathology and Head of Dunn School of Pathology, University of Oxford

Professor Peter Ghazal, Chair of Molecular Genetics and Biomedicine, University of Edinburgh

Professor Neil Gow, Director of Research and Commercialisation at College of Life Sciences and Medicine, University of Aberdeen

Professor Seth Grant, Professor of Molecular Neuroscience, University of Edinburgh

Professor Fiona Gribble, Professor of Endocrine Physiology, University of Cambridge

Professor Simon Hay, Professor of Epidemiology, University of Oxford

Professor Kairbaan Hodivala-Dilke, Professor of Angiogenesis; Deputy Director of Barts Cancer Institute, Queen Mary University of London

Professor Laurence Hurst FRS, Professor of Evolutionary Genetics, University of Bath

Professor Bent Jakobsen, Chief Scientific Officer, Immunocore Ltd

Dr Harren Jhoti, President and CEO, Astex Pharmaceuticals

Professor Paul Kaye, Professor of Immunology; Director Centre for Immunology and Infection, University of York and Hull York Medical School

Professor David Klenerman FRS, Professor of Biophysical Chemistry, University of Cambridge

Professor Diana Kuh, Professor of Life Course Epidemiology and MRC Director, University College London

Professor Catherine Law, Professor of Public Health and Epidemiology, Institute of Child Health; University College London

Professor Janet Lord, Professor of Immune Cell Biology; Director MRC-Arthritis Research UK Centre for Musculoskeletal Ageing Research, University of Birmingham

Professor Andrew Loudon, Beyer Professor of Animal Biology, University of Manchester

Dr Ruth McKernan, Chief Executive, Innovate UK

Professor John McMurray, Professor of Medical Cardiology and Honorary Consultant Cardiologist, University of Glasgow

Professor Massimo Palmarini, Professor of Virology and Director of the MRC-University of Glasgow Centre for Virus Research, University of Glasgow

Dr Menelas Pangalos, Executive Vice President and Global Head, AstraZeneca

Professor Ian Pavord, Professor of Respiratory Medicine, University of Oxford

Professor Aziz Sheikh, Professor of Primary Care Research & Development and Co-Director Centre for Population Sciences, University of Edinburgh

Professor John Strang, Professor of Addictions; Head of Addictions Department, King’s College London

Dr Charles Swanton, Senior Group Leader Francis Crick Institute and Chair in Cancer Medicine University College London Hospitals and Cancer Institute

Dr Sarah Teichmann, Research Group Leader EMBL-European Bioinformatics Institute & Senior Group Leader, Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute

Professor Alan Thompson, Dean, Faculty of Brain Sciences, University College London

Professor Irene Tracey, Nuffield Professor Anaesthetic Science and Head Nuffield Division of Anaesthetics, University of Oxford

Professor Charlotte Watts, Professor in Social and Mathematical Epidemiology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Professor Michael Way, Senior Group Leader, The Francis Crick Institute, Lincoln's Inn Fields Laboratory; Professor of Virology Imperial College London

Professor Martin Wilkins, Professor of Clinical Pharmacology; Head of Department of Medicine, Imperial College London 

Prioritising Early Years Health, invite-only two day policy workshop

Book Now

Early detection of neurodegenerative disease in primary care and the community

Book Now

Mentoring Masterclass - February 2024

Book Now
View more
FB Twitter Instagram Youtube