President's response to new Science Minister

Following the confirmation of Amanda Solloway MP as Science Minister, the President of the Academy of Medical Sciences, Professor Sir Robert Lechler PMedSci, said:

“I would like to take this opportunity to welcome the new Science Minister, Amanda Solloway MP, into what is surely one of the best roles within Government.

“It is an extremely exciting and important time for UK science, with many reasons to be optimistic. This Government has already demonstrated its commitment to supporting science, research and innovation. Not least through pledging to double R&D funding and launching a new visa route to attract talented researchers to the UK. These commitments are extremely welcome. However there is still some uncertainty ahead, not least our relationship with the EU’s next research programme, Horizon Europe, something that the sector is almost unanimously in support of participating in.

“Ms Solloway now has an extraordinary opportunity to deliver on this Government’s commitment to invest 2.4% of GDP in R&D. As she gets to work on these objectives, I hope that she will take the time to engage with and understand the needs of the sector. I also urge Ms Solloway to work closely with the new Minister for Universities, Michelle Donelan MP in the Department for Education, to understand how the UK’s strength in science is totally entwined with our world-leading universities.

“I very much look forward to working closely with Ms Solloway and supporting her in her new capacity.”


Other relevant Ministerial appointments:

Department for Business Energy and Industrial Strategy

Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy - The Rt Hon Alok Sharma MP

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Science) - Amanda Solloway MP,  responsibilities TBC (24.02.20)

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for Business and Industry)Nadhim Zahawi MP,  responsibilities include:

  • sectoral lead life sciences

Department of Health and Social Care

Secretary of StateThe Rt Hon Matt Hancock

Minister of State (Minister for Care) - Helen Whately MP,  responsibilities include:

  • research and life sciences
  • sponsorship of: Health Research Agency

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for Patient Safety, Suicide Prevention and Mental Health) - Nadine Dorries MP, responsibilities include:

  • mental health
  • patient experience
  • data and technology
  • medicines and devices regulation
  • sponsorship of: MHRA, NHSX

Department for Education 

Minister of State (Universities) - Michelle Donelan MP

Key contacts

The Jean Shanks Lecture 2020

Book Now

Annual Fellows' Meeting 2020

Book Now

Disaster Theory, Inequality & Covid-19: Ladders4Action Online Training Session

Book Now
View more
FB Twitter Instagram Youtube