Council election 2019 - call for nominations

Nominations sought for Fellows to serve on the Academy's Council

This year, two members of Council will complete their terms of office at the Annual Fellows' Meeting on 3 December:

Professor Elizabeth Fisher FMedSci
Professor Sir Doug Turnbull FRS FMedSci

Two new members of Council will be appointed through this year's Council election. Each will serve a three-year term.

All Ordinary Fellows of the Academy are eligible to stand for election to Council except where, should they have previously served on Council, at least one calendar year must have passed since they ceased to hold office. Further guidance notes and a nomination form can be downloaded from this page.

Completed nomination forms should be returned to the Executive Director (c/o Alison Rojo), Academy of Medical Sciences, 41 Portland Place, London W1B 1QH no later than 17:00 on Friday 20 September.

Alternatively, nomination forms can be emailed directly to

Fellows wishing to informally discuss nominations or the role of Council are invited to contact Dr Rachel Quinn (

In early October, a list of candidates for this year's election and a ballot form will be posted to all Fellows. This year's ballot will be counted on Tuesday 12 November and the results announced to the Fellowship at the Annual Fellows Meeting on 3 December 2019.

Key contacts

Mentoring Masterclass, July 2020

Book Now

Mentoring Masterclass, August 2020

Book Now
View more
FB Twitter Instagram Youtube