Celebrating Fellows and friends in New Year honours list 2020

Congratulations to the 5 Academy Fellows who have been recognised in the New Year honours list 2020.

We are also delighted that former Academy Executive Director Dr Helen Munn has been awarded an OBE for services to the advancement of medical science.

Professor Sir Robert Lechler PMedSci, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences said:

“I would like to personally congratulate all the Academy Fellows that have been given New Year honours. These awards demonstrate the calibre of our Fellowship and their high quality contributions to biomedical research. Together they showcase UK science at its best."

“I am also very pleased to see Dr Helen Munn, who worked at the Academy of Medical Sciences for 15 years, recognised in the honours list this year. Her fantastic contributions to our policy work, and her time leading the organisation as Executive Director, helped make the Academy the success it is today.”

Fellows who received awards included:

Dame Grand Cross of the Order of the Bath

Professor Dame Sally Claire Davies DBE FRS FMedSci

Knights Bachelor

Dr Dennis Barry Gillings CBE FMedSci

Menelas Nicolas Pangalos FMedSci

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire

Professor Alan Robert Lehmann FRS FMedSci

Members of the Order of the British Empire

Professor Jeremy David Pearson FMedSci


Mentoring Masterclass, Birmingham

Book Now

AMS Regional event, South West

Book Now

Mentoring Masterclass, Brighton

Book Now
View more
FB Twitter Instagram Youtube