New Fellows

The following Fellows have been elected in 2017.

Professor Jane Apperley FMedSci, Chair, Centre for Haematology, Imperial College London

Professor Dorothy Bennett FMedSci, Director, Molecular & Clinical Sciences Research Institute, St. George's, University of London

Professor Phillip Bennett FMedSci, Director of the Institute of Reproductive and Developmental Biology, Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Imperial College

Professor James Berkley FMedSci, Head of Clinical Research, KEMRI Wellcome Trust Research Programme, Centre for Tropical Medicine and Global Health, University of Oxford  

Dr Anne Bertolotti FMedSci, Programme Leader, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology

Professor Andrew Biankin FMedSci, Regius Professor of Surgery, Director Wolfson Wohl Cancer Research Centre, Institute of Cancer Sciences, University of Glasgow

Professor Sheila Bird OBE FRSE FMedSci, Visiting Senior Fellow, MRC Biostatistics Unit, University of Cambridge School of Clinical Medicine and Institute of Public Health and Visiting Professor at Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Strathclyde University

Professor John Brazier FMedSci, Dean and Professor of Health Economics, University of Sheffield

Professor David Burn FMedSci, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Faculty of Medical Sciences and Professor of Movement Disorders Neurology, Newcastle University

Dr Jason Carroll FMedSci, Senior Group Leader, Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute, University of Cambridge

Professor Charles ffrench-Constant FMedSci, Professorial Fellow, MRC Centre for Regenerative Medicine, University of Edinburgh

Professor David Fitzpatrick FMedSci, Joint Head of Disease Mechanisms, MRC Human Genetics Unit, University of Edinburgh

Professor Azra Ghani FMedSci, Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology, Imperial College London

Professor Richard Gilbertson FMedSci, Li Ka Shing Chair of Oncology, Head of Department of Oncology, Director, Cancer Research UK Cambridge Centre, University of Cambridge

Professor Linda Greensmith FMedSci, Head of Department, Sobell Department of Motor Neuroscience and Movement Disorders, Institute of Neurology, University College London

Professor Steve Halligan FMedSci, Head, UCL Centre for Medical Imaging, University College London

Professor Gregory Hannon FMedSci, Royal Society Wolfson Research Professor of Molecular Cancer Biology, University of Cambridge

Professor Francesca Happé FMedSci, Director, MRC Social, Genetic & Developmental Psychiatry Centre, Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience, King's College London

Professor Alison Holmes FMedSci, Professor of Infectious Diseases, Department of Medicine, Imperial College London

Professor Matthew Hotopf FMedSci, Professor of General Hospital Psychiatry, King’s College London

Dr Roman Hovorka FMedSci, Director of Research, WT-MRC Institute of Metabolic Science, University of Cambridge

Dr Matthew Hurles FMedSci, Senior Group Leader, Human Genetics, Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute

Professor Tracy Hussell FMedSci, Director, Manchester Collaborative Centre for Inflammation Research, University of Manchester

Professor Arthur Kaser FMedSci, University Chair of Gastroenterology, Honorary Consultant Physician, University of Cambridge

Professor Jonathan Knowles FMedSci, Chairman of the Board, Immunocore Ltd

Professor Susan Lea FMedSci, Director of the Central Oxford Structural Microscopy and Imaging Centre & Professor of Microbiology, Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, University of Oxford

Professor Philip K. Maini FRS FMedSci, Professor of Mathematical Biology, Wolfson Centre for Mathematical Biology, University of Oxford

Professor Giovanna Mallucci FMedSci, van Geest Professor of Clinical Neurosciences, Clinical Neurosciences, University of Cambridge; Associate Director UK Dementia Research Institute at University of Cambridge; Programme Leader and Head of Neurobiology, MRC Toxicology Unit, University of Leicester

Professor Derek Mann FMedSci, Professor of Hepatology, Dean of Research and Innovation, Faculty of Medical Sciences, Newcastle University

Professor Hugh Markus FMedSci, Professor of Stroke Medicine, Clinical Neurosciences, University of Cambridge

Professor Susan Michie FMedSci, Professor of Health Psychology and Director of the Centre for Behaviour Change, University College London

Professor Jill Pell CBE FMedSci, Director of Institute of Health and Wellbeing, University of Glasgow

Dr Rab Prinjha FMedSci, Vice President Head Epinova Epigenetics DPU, ImmunoInflammation, Research & Development, GlaxoSmithKline

Dr David Roblin FMedSci, Chief Operating Officer and Director of Scientific Translation, Francis Crick Institute

Professor Jamie Rossjohn FLSW FMedSci, Australian Research Council Australian Laureate Fellow, Monash University; Professor of Structural Immunology, Cardiff University

Professor Owen Sansom FMedSci, Deputy Director, Beatson Institute for Cancer Research, University of Glasgow

Professor Stephen Scott CBE FMedSci, Director, National Academy for Parenting Research, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Department, King’s College London

Professor Michael Seckl FMedSci, Professor of Molecular Cancer Medicine Medical Oncology, Department of Surgery and Cancer, Imperial College London

Professor Robin Shattock FMedSci, Professor of Mucosal Infection & Immunity, Imperial College London

Professor Kate Storey FMedSci, Head of Division, Chair of Neural Development, University of Dundee

Professor Rhian Touyz FMedSci, British Heart Foundation Professor and Chair in Cardiovascular Medicine; Director, Institute of Cardiovascular and Medical Sciences, University of Glasgow

Professor Brian Walker FMedSci, Professor of Endocrinology, Head of the British Heart Foundation Centre for Cardiovascular Science, & Dean of Research for the College of Medicine & Veterinary Medicine, University of Edinburgh

Professor Christine J. Watson FMedSci, Professor of Cell and Cancer Biology, University of Cambridge

Professor Dame Margaret Whitehead FMedSci, W.H. Duncan Professor of Public Health and Head, World Health Organisation Collaborating Centre for Policy Research on Social Determinants of Health Equity, University of Liverpool

Professor Robert Wilkinson FMedSci, Wellcome Senior Fellow and Professor in Infectious Diseases, Imperial College London; Senior Group Leader, The Francis Crick Institute London; Honorary Professor and Director, Wellcome Centre for Infectious Diseases Research in Africa, University of Cape Town

Professor Thomas Williams FMedSci, Chair in Haemoglobinopathy Research, Imperial College London

South West Special Lecture - Development and homeostasis of the enteric nervous system

Book Now

New Fellows Admission Day 2018

Book Now

Challenges and priorities for global mental health research in low- and middle-income countries

Book Now
View more