Hamied Foundation UK-India Antimicrobial Resistance Meeting 2019

08.30, Monday 04 February 2019

The Hallam Conference Centre,

44 Hallam Street, London

On Monday 4 and Tuesday 5 February 2019, the Academy of Medical Sciences hosted a two-day meeting on antimicrobial resistance (AMR).

The meeting was organised as part of a wider programme of work which aims to strengthen the research links between the UK and India to jointly address the challenge of AMR. This programme has been generously supported by the Yusuf and Farida Hamied Foundation. The programme includes a second meeting in 2021 in India and an annual Visiting Professorship scheme which supports the travel and subsistence costs of UK researchers wishing to visit India to develop long-term collaborations in this field of biomedical research: AMS Hamied Foundation UK-India AMR Visiting Professorships.

Specifically, across the course of the two-day 2019 symposium, findings from collaborative research on the interactions of human health, animal health, and the environment were explored alongside the research and policy actions that have been taken in the UK and India to address this challenge. In addition, the symposium helped to identify areas for continued or future research that will impact on policy and action. A video of the event can be found below or on the Academy's YouTube Channel. 

The Academy is grateful to the steering committee members for their help in organising the meeting and developing the meeting agenda. 

  • Professor David Heymann CBE FMedSci [Chair], Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
  • Professor Jeffery Errington FRS FMedSci, Director of the Centre for Bacterial Cell Biology, Newcastle University
  • Dr Abdul Ghafur, Coordinator, Chennai declaration on antimicrobial resistance 
  • Professor Alison Holmes FMedSci, Professor of Infectious Diseases, Imperial College London
  • Dr Shahid Jameel, Chief Executive Officer, Wellcome Trust DBT India Alliance
  • Professor Asad Khan, Professor of Biotechnology, Aligarh Muslim University
  • Professor Richard Kock, Professor of Wildlife Health and Emerging Diseases, Royal Veterinary College
  • Professor Sharon Peacock CBE FMedSci, Honorary Senior Research Fellow; University of Cambridge
  • Dr Radha Rangarajan, co-founder and CEO of Vitas Pharma
  • Professor Balaji Veeraraghavan, Professor and Head of Microbiology, Christian Medical College, Vellore

If you have any questions about the event please contact Abigail Bloy, Policy Officer at the Academy of Medical Sciences (abigail.bloy@acmedsci.ac.uk). 

The programme is generously supported by the Yusuf and Farida Hamied Foundation.

Staff contacts

Mentoring Masterclass, February 2019, Bristol

Book Now

The future of gene therapies: next steps for the UK

Book Now

SUSTAIN Inspiring Women Evening

Book Now
View more
FB Twitter Instagram Youtube