







Accelerating vaccine development in the UK safely: enhancing Human Challenge Studies to combat infectious diseases – participant list

Chairs

Professor Andrew J Pollard FRCPCH PhD FMedSci, Professor of Paediatric Infection and Immunity at the University of Oxford, Director of the Oxford Vaccine Group. **Professor Maria Zambon** PhD FRCPath FMedSci, Director of Reference Microbiology at Public Health England.

Attendees

Professor Richard Ashcroft, Professor of Bioethics, Queen Mary University of London **Shobana Balasingam**, Senior Project Officer, Wellcome

Dr Paul Bowyer, Principal Scientist, Division of Bacteriology, National Institute for Biological Standards and Control

Dr Martin Broadstock, Programme Manager for Immunology, Medical Research Council **Professor Jeremy Brown**, Professor of Respiratory Infection, University College London

Dr Marco Cavaleri, Head of Anti-infectives and Vaccines, European Medicines Agency **Dr Bryan Charleston**, Director, Pirbright Institute

Jane Cheeseman, Member, South Central Research Ethics Committee (Oxford A) **Dr Christopher Chiu**, Clinical Senior Lecturer, Imperial College London

Dr Thomas Darton, NIHR Academic Clinical Lecturer in Infectious Diseases, University of Sheffield

Dr Hugh Davies, Chair, South Central Research Ethics Committee (Oxford A)

Dr Jeanne-Marie Devaster, Director, Clinical R&D, GSK Vaccines

Professor Simon Draper, Associate Professor & Wellcome Trust Senior Fellow, Jenner Institute, University of Oxford

Dr Claudia Emerson, Director, Institute on Ethics & Policy for Innovation, McMaster University

Professor Nicholas Grassly, Professor in Vaccine Epidemiology, Imperial College London

Dr Efrain Guzman, Institute Fellow, Pirbright Institute

Professor Robert Heyderman, Professor of Infectious Diseases, University College London

Dr Helen Hill, Senior Clinical Fellow, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine

Dr Jennifer Hill, Post-doctoral researcher, Oxford Vaccine Group

Dr Mei Mei Ho, Principal Scientist and Group Leader, Division of Bacteriology, National Institute for Biological Standards and Control

Dr Qinxue Hu, Senior Lecturer, Institute for Infection & Immunity, St George's University of London

Professor Sebastian Johnston FMedSci, Professor of Respiratory Medicine & Allergy, National Heart and Lung Institute, Imperial College London

Dr Dominik Karres, Medical Assessor, Biologicals Evaluation Unit, Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency

Professor Paul Kaye, Director of the Centre for Immunology and Infection, University of York

Dr Ivana Knezevic, Group lead, Norms and Standards/Biologicals, World Health Organization

Dr Rachel Knowles, Programme Manager for Clinical Sciences, Medical Research Council

Dr Teresa Lambe, Senior Scientist, Jenner Institute, University of Oxford

Dr Michelle Linterman, Group Leader, Lymphocyte Signalling and Development ISP, Babraham Institute

Professor John McLauchlan, Deputy Director, University of Glasgow Centre for Virus Research

Dr Graham McNaughton, Pharmaceutical Assessor, Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency

Professor Helen McShane, Professor of Vaccinology, Wellcome Senior Clinical Fellow at the Jenner Institute, University of Oxford

Dr Angela Minassian, Chief Investigator, Blood-Stage & Transmission-Blocking Malaria Clinical Trials, University of Oxford

Professor Jonathan Montgomery, Chair, Health Research Authority

Professor Richard Moxon FRS FMedSci, Emeritus Professor of Paediatrics, University of Oxford

Professor Peter Openshaw FMedSci, Director of the HIC-Vac Network and Professor of Experimental Medicine, Imperial College London

Dr Jonathan Pearce, Head of Infection and Immunity, Medical Research Council **Geert Preuveneers**, Executive Director Regulatory Affairs Europe, Therapeutic Area Lead Vaccines, MSD (Europe).

Professor Robert Read, Head of Clinical & Experimental Sciences Academic Unit, University of Southampton

Dr Zoe Seager, Programme Officer (Vaccines), Wellcome

Dr Ryan Thwaites, Research Associate, Imperial Clinical Respiratory Research Unit **Professor Jonathan van Tam MBE**, Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health

Dr Charlie Weller, Head of Vaccines Programme, Wellcome

Dr Myra Widjojoatmodjo, Scientific Affairs Leader Respiratory Infections, Janssen Vaccines

Observers

Claire Puddephatt, HIC-Vac Network Manager, Imperial College London **Emma Smith**, HIC-Vac Comms Lead, Imperial College London

Academy of Medical Sciences staff

Ola Bykowska, Policy Intern Joseph Clift, Interim Policy Manager Andreia Feijao, Interim Policy Manager Alex Hulme, International Policy Manager Florence Mowlem, Policy Intern James Squires, Policy Officer