

# Annual General Meeting 2013

President's report

Professor Sir John Tooke PMedSci

## **Election of Honorary Fellows**

It is proposed to elect:

Dr Bruce Alberts

Dr Donald Berwick

Professor Elizabeth Blackburn FRS

as Honorary Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences, to be admitted at a future AGM.

## Foreign Secretary

Professor Robert Souhami CBE FMedSci will retire as Foreign Secretary in February 2014.

He will be succeeded by Professor George Griffin FMedSci, St George's University of London.

## Ordinary Council members retiring in 2013

Professor David Adams FMedSci
Professor Alastair Buchan FMedSci
Professor Alan Fairlamb CBE FRSE FMedSci
Professor Sir Robert Lechler FMedSci
Professor Joanna Wardlaw FRSE FMedSci
Professor Jonathan Weber FMedSci













### Council election 2013

- 12 candidates nominated by the Fellowship, competing for 3 places.
- Voting was conducted by the single transferable voting system and the procedure overseen by Professor Sir Malcolm Green FMedSci.
- 355 votes were cast. There was 1 spoilt paper.

### New Council members 2013

Professor Steve Dunnett FMedSci Professor Graham Hart FMedSci Professor Veronica van Heyningen CBE FRS FRSE FMedSci







## Fellowship election 2013 new Fellows

44 New Fellows elected in April 2013.

	2010 election	2011 election	2012 election	2013 election	Total fellowship
Female	4	6	15	12	162
Overseas	0	0	1	1	58
Non- clinical	17	24	29	26	519*
Clinical	23	16	17	18	569*

<sup>\*</sup>no data for 4 Fellows

1092 Fellows in total at November 2013.

# Fellowship – geographical spread

London	384
South East	171
East Anglia	163
Scotland	104
International	58
North West	56
South West	35
Yorkshire and Humberside	26
Wales	26
West Midlands	25
North East	24
East Midlands	16
Northern Ireland	4



### Election of Fellows 2014: Candidates

- 48 Candidates 'lapsed' after the 2013 election.
- 255 existing eligible candidates are entering the 2014 election.
- 80 new nominations were received by September 2013.
- A total of 335 candidates are being reviewed for the 2014 election. 44 new Fellows will be elected in April 2014.



## Sectional Committees 2013/2014

1. Physics, chemistry, biochemistry, structural biology, mathematics, informatics and engineering applied to biomedicine

Chair: Professor Laurence Pearl FMedSci

- 2. Genetics, cellular and developmental biology, microbiology and immunology Chair: Professor Margaret Frame FMedSci
- 3. Anatomy, neuroscience (including neurology and neurosurgery), physiology, pharmacological sciences

Chair: Professor Sussan Nourshargh FMedSci

4. Medical specialties (excluding oncology, neurology) and paediatrics

Chair: Professor Cyrus Cooper FMedSci

5. Surgery, anaesthesia, oncology, clinical pathologies, imaging (including radiology), dentistry, ophthalmology, obstetrics and gynaecology

Chair: Professor Herbie Newell FMedSci

6. Psychiatry and mental health, public health, epidemiology and statistics

Chair: Professor Tim Cole FMedSci

7. Primary care, social sciences, humanities and law in medicine, administration of health services, health services research, health policy, health improvement, education, industry, science and society

Chair: Professor Graham Hart FMedSci

# **Election 2014 Candidates**

Sectional Committee	Total number	New Candidates	Number to be elected*
1	29	11	3
2	79	18	9
3	55	11	6
4	48	4	6
5	55	18	6
6	39	7	4
7	30	11	3
Total	335	80	44 (7 floating)

<sup>\*</sup>these numbers to be agreed at the Chairs meeting on 27 November 2013

### Election timetable

- 27 September 2013 Deadline for nominations.
- November 2013 First round scoring and Sectional Committee Chairs meeting.
- November/December 2013 Short list for peer review.
- January/February 2014 Referees' reports sought.
- March 2014 –Sectional Committee meetings.
- April 2014 Sectional Committee Chairs meeting.
- 24 April 2014 New Fellows elected by council.
- 2 July 2014 Admission Day.

### **Deceased Fellows**

#### Professor Peter Richards FMedSci

Elected 1998 died April 2011 Former Dean of St Mary's Medical School, Imperial College London

#### **Professor Alan Cowey FRS FMedSci**

Elected 1998 died December 2012 Emeritus Professor of Physiological Psychology, University of Oxford

#### Professor Guy Dodson FRS FMedSci

Elected 2002 died December 2012 Emeritus Professor, MRC National Institute for Medical Research

### **Deceased Fellows**

#### Professor Brigitte Askonas FRS FMedSci

Elected 1998 died January 2013 Visiting Professor, Leucocyte Biology Imperial College London

#### Sir Kenneth Murray FRS FRSE FMedSci

Elected 1998 died April 2013 Former BIOGEN Professor of Molecular Biology University of Edinburgh

#### Professor David Barker FMedSci

Elected 1998 died August 2013 Professor of Clinical Epidemiology MRC Lifecourse Epidemiology Unit, Southampton General Hospital

### **Deceased Fellows**

#### Professor Michael Neuberger FRS FMedSci

Elected 1998 died October 2013 Deputy Director and Joint Head of the Division of Protein and Nucleic Acid Chemistry MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge

#### Dr Frederick Sanger OM CH CBE FRS FMedSci Elected Honorary Fellow 1999 died November 2013 Nobel Laureate, Chemistry 1958, 1980