Regional Champions

The Academy has established a network of Regional Champions to build on the already strong sense of collegiality across the Fellowship.

Champions  undertake activities in their area that increase connectivity amongst Fellows, raise awareness of the Academy’s work amongst the broader biomedical community, and facilitate engagement between the Academy and the Fellowship.

If you would like to discuss the scheme further please contact

The following Fellows serve as the Academy's Regional Champions:


To be announced

North East
Professor Christine Harrison FMedSci
Professor of Childhood Cancer Cytogenetics, Newcastle University

North West
Professor Jørgen Vestbo FMedSci
Professor of Respiratory Medicine, University of Manchester

Yorkshire and Humberside
Professor Philip Quirke  FMedSci
Head of Pathology and Tumour Biology and Sub-Dean for Postgraduate Academic Training, University of Leeds

Professor Philip Baker FMedSci
Dean of Medicine, University of Leicester

Professor Julie Williams CBE FMedSci FLSW
Associate Director, UK Dementia Research Institute Cardiff Centre,  Cardiff University

East Anglia
Professor Mary Dixon-Woods FMedSci
RAND Professor of Health Services Research,  University of Cambridge

South East
Professor Stephen Holgate CBE FMedSci
MRC Clinical Professor of Immunopharmacology, University of Southampton

South West
Professor Ashley Blom FMedSci
Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Head of Translational Health Sciences, University of Bristol

Anniversary Fellows Meeting 2018

Book Now

Joint symposium on mental health and addiction: A discussion, exchange and sharing of perspectives

Book Now

South-East Regional Annual Lecture 2018, Oxford, 3 December

Book Now
View more
FB Twitter Instagram Youtube