

# Council election 2023: list of candidates

The following Fellows have been nominated for election to the Academy's Council:

#### Professor Jane Apperley FMedSci

Campus Director Hammersmith-White City and Professor of Haemato-oncology, Imperial College London *Nominators:* Professor Jonathan Weber FMedSci; Professor Stephen Bloom FRS FMedSci; Professor Anthony Green FMedSci *No previous service on Council* 

### Professor David Burn FMedSci

Pro-Vice Chancellor, Faculty of Medical Sciences, Newcastle University and Honorary Consultant Neurologist, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust *Nominators:* Professor Christopher Day CBE FMedSci; Professor Andrew Morris CBE FRSE FMedSci; Professor Dame Pamela Shaw DBE FMedSci *No previous service on Council* 

### Professor Jonathan Green FMedSci

Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, University of Manchester and Honorary Consultant, Royal Manchester Children's Hospital *Nominators:* Professor Edmund Sonuga-Barke FBA FMedSci; Professor Anita Thapar CBE FMedSci; Professor Stephen Scott CBE FMedSci *No previous service on Council* 

# Professor Malcolm Macleod FMedSci

Professor of Neurology and Translational Neurosciences and Academic Lead for Research Improvement, University of Edinburgh; Honorary Consultant Neurologist, NHS Forth Valley *Nominators:* 

Professor Philippa Saunders FRSE FMedSci: Professor Philip Bath FMedSci; Professor Paula Williamson FMedSci

No previous service on Council

#### Professor Helen McShane FMedSci

Professor of Vaccinology and Deputy Head, Medical Sciences Division, University of Oxford; Director, NIHR Oxford Biomedical Research Centre; Honorary Consultant in Infectious Diseases

*Nominators:* Professor Moira Whyte OBE FMedSci; Professor Bryan Williams FMedSci; Professor Sarah Rowland-Jones FMedSci

No previous service on Council

#### Professor John Primrose FMedSci

Professor of Surgery, University of Southampton and Honorary Consultant Surgeon, University Hospital Southampton *Nominators:* Professor Sir Stephen Holgate CBE FMedSci; Professor David Neal CBE FMedSci; Professor John Iredale FRSE FMedSci *No previous service on Council* 

## Professor Jugnoo Rahi FMedSci

Professor of Ophthalmic Epidemiology and Honorary Consultant Ophthalmologist, UCL GOS Institute of Child Health and UCL Institute of Ophthalmology, Great Ormond Street Hospital NHS Foundation Trust *Nominators:* Professor Rosalind Smyth CBE FMedSci; Professor Catherine Law CBE FMedSci; Professor Andrew Dick FMedSci *No previous service on Council* 

### Professor Athimalaipet Ramanan FMedSci

Consultant Paediatric Rheumatologist, Bristol Royal Hospital for Children and Professor of Paediatric Rheumatology, University of Bristol *Nominators:* Professor George Davey Smith FRS FMedSci; Professor Jane Blazeby FMedSci; Professor Andrew Dick FMedSci *No previous service on Council* 

# Professor Dame Til Wykes DBE FMedSci

Professor of Clinical Psychology and Rehabilitation and Head of the School of Mental Health and Psychological Sciences, IoPPN, King's College London *Nominators:* Professor Sir Simon Wessely FRS FMedSci; Professor Anthony David FMedSci; Professor Rosalind Smyth CBE FMedSci *No previous service on Council* 

#### Professor Lawrence Young FMedSci

Professor of Molecular Oncology, University of Warwick Nominators: Professor Xin Lu FRS FMedSci; Professor Peter Johnson CBE FMedSci; Professor Nick Lemoine CBE FMedSci No previous service on Council